2002 Zurich Australian Rowing Championships   
Nagambie Lakes, Victoria   
January 29 2015 6:12:04 AM AEST   

The Penrith Cup

History of the Cup

The first official interstate lightweight race was held in 1958 at Penrith. No oarsman could be heavier than 140 pounds. However prior to this in 1948 a lightweight four race took place at Ballarat between Victoria and New South Wales. It was part of the 1948 Olympic Selection Regatta. Penrith City Council presented a trophy to the Australian Rowing Council in 1958 as the perpetual trophy for Lightweight Fours and this laid the foundation for this class of event in Australia.

The weight limits have varied from time to time, however it is now set at a crew average of 70 kg's with no person heavier than 72.5 kg's.

Australia has always been a strong performer in Lightweight rowing on the International stage. In 1974 Australia won the first ever FISA Lightweight Four World Championship. In 1999 in St Catherines, Canada a silver was won in the same event.

The only change to the format of the Penrith Cup since 1958 occurred in 1979 when the event became a Coxless Four.

Phil Gardiner who has won a record six Penrith Cups, sums up the feeling of Interstate racing "the Penrith Cup for me was always the highlight of the regatta".

Previous Results: 2001 (Brisbane); 2000 (Sydney); 1999 (Adelaide); 1998 (Nagambie)

Copyright Information

The above precis was prepared by Michael Wilson (2001)

To Top of Page   Nationals Core Page | Fan Mail | Zurich Australia | Rowing Australia | Rowing Victoria  

  © 2001 - 2015. All rights reserved. (Parts to James Worrell; Bennett and Francis; Rowing Australia)

Zurich Australia Vic Health Diabetes Victoria Rwoing Victoria
Parks Victoria Australian Sports Commission P&O Nedllyor Fédération Internationale des Sociétés d’Aviron Bennett and Francis